County executive nominees to undergo vetting next week

MERU, September ---- The County Assembly of Meru will on Monday next week start vetting County executive nominees recently nominated by Governor Kiraitu Murungi. The names of those nominated were forwarded to the County Assembly of Meru on Friday for the vetting that will take place on September 25 and 26. Last week, the Deputy Speaker Elias Murega released the names of the house committee member to vet the nominees before the formal appointment. The County Assembly Clerk on Saturday published a notice calling for the public and institutions to submit any information on reservations in respect to the suitability of the nominees. According to the notice, the information will be held in confidence and used for grilling only. The submissions will be received by the Office of the Clerk of the Assembly on or before Friday, 22nd September 2017 at 4.00 pm. The committee on Appointments will consider the views gathered from the public and incorporate them in its report as required by the law that is specific on public participation in all the appointments to state and public offices. Agriculture, Livestock Development and Fisheries nominee Prof Karwitha Kiugu will be the first to appear on the first day at 10.00 am. She will be followed by Youth and Sports nominee Daniel Kiogora. Others to appear on the same day are Education, Technology, Gender, Culture and Social Development nominee Linner Nkirote Kailanya, Roads, Transport and Energy nominee Julius Taitumu, Trade, Investments, Industrialization, Tourism and Cooperatives nominee Maingi Mugambi and Environment, Wildlife and Natural resources nominee Caroline Mutiga. On the second and final day, Water and Irrigation nominee Misheck M’muyuri will be the first to be vetted. Then followed by Jeremiah Lenya (Land, Physical Planning, Urban Development and Public Works), Kiautha Arithi (Legal Affairs, Public Service Management, and Administration) and Eunice Kobia Nkirote (Health Service).










Twitter Feeds
College of Biological and Physical Sciences School of Biological Sciences